Cindy Blanchard, September Artist-of-the-Month

cindyblanchard_highseas2  High Seas by Cindy Blanchard

The featured artist for September at The River Gallery is Cindy Blanchard of Monroe.

 “No great artist ever sees things as they really are. If he did, he would cease to be an artist.” – Oscar Wilde. 

Cindy says about her work, “I never really thought of myself as an artist, but throughout my life, people told me that I was because of the way I looked at things, because of the questions that I asked and because of my willingness to explore, experiment and visualize.  I always feared that I lacked any artistic ability whatsoever.”

After being a member of Ouachita River Art Gallery as a photographer for the last decade, Cindy realized that being surrounded by the art of very talented painters always made her happy, so she decided to give painting a try.  “Addiction to a steep learning curve is a typical course for me and  “cannon ball” entry aptly defines my approach to most things. So far, this has held true for my experience in painting.  I am consumed with learning all I can about art.” The journey has been exciting and Cindy looks forward to each new day to see what I can learn about creating without fear or hesitation.

 The River Gallery, 308 Trenton Street, West Monroe, invites you to come see this special show of Cindy’s work during the entire month of September.The gallery,  is open Tuesday through Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. The Gallery is a member of Cottonport Historic Cultural District of West Monroe, so purchases of original art from the gallery are tax-free.  Admission is free. Check out our workshop table for upcoming art classes. Paintings and photographs by gallery members can also be seen at The River Gallery’s extension gallery located in the lobby of Ouachita Independent Bank/Bankers Mortgage Plaza at 18th and Louisville in Monroe.

The River Gallery is open late during the Downtown Gallery Crawls on the first Thursday of every other month (February – December) from 5-9. For more information, call 318-322-2380

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

